Kedarnath mandir: Mind blowing facts

by Prakhar

“Shiva is not a god up there above but a living presence here.”

– Sadhguru

Every Millennial now a days has this one thing common in there bucket list, that is to visit kedarnath mandir. My grandparents told me that people go to Kedarnath to attain moksh, and were assumed to never come back. But I think with this changing lifestyle this has changed too. The only thing that has remained same is shiv and if you want to test the correctness of the above quote then you should definately visit this place.

Some of the amazing and mind blowing facts about kedarnath mandir.

Who build the Kedarnath Mandir

Legends says it was built by the Pandavas. They went to seek the blessings of Lord Shiva to free themselves from the sin of killing their cousins. Then Kedarnath temple was completely under snow for 400 year. After which this temple came to light and then later, was renovated and restructured by Adi Shankara in 8th A.D.

The Protector of Kedarnath mandir

Who is better to protect lord Shiva other than himself. Yes Lord Shiva most fiers and destructive incartion Bhairo Nath is protecting the temple.

The head priest of kedarnath mandir

The main priest of the Kedarnath temple always belongs to the Veerashaiva society from Karnataka, also known as Raval. He does not perform the puja ceremony himself, it’s all entire by his helper. However, when the deity is shifted from Kedarnath to Ukhimath, So the chief priest performs the ceremony. And Raval also comes with the lord to Ukhimath.

The Mystery behind the shape of Lingam

The Shiva Lingam of the Kedarnath temple is a triangle shape. And hence is unique among Shiva temples. which is placed in the sanctum sanctorum (Garbha Griha) of the temple. The Kedarnath temple houses idols of Parvati, Lord Krishna, five Pandavas and their wife Draupadi, Nandi, Veerabhadra and other gods and goddesses along with the vehicle Nandi of Lord Shiva.

Not just a temple, but a part of Panch Kedar

Kedarnath Temple is part of the Panch Kedar. It refers to the five holy places dedicated to Lord Shiva, all of which are located in the Garhwal Himalayas. Not just that, those deciding to go on a pilgrimage to Panch Kedar have to do so in a strict chronological order.

Devotees embarking on a Chota Char Dham of Himalayas pilgrimage are expected to visit Kedarnath first, followed by Tungnath, then Rudranath and Madhyamaheshwar, and finally Kalpeshwar. Not just that, each of these pilgrimage sites have a special significance attached to Lord Shiva. Tungnath, for example, is associated with Lord Shiva’s hands, and Rudranath with his face. Madhyamaheshwar is where Lord Shiva’s stomach and navel are found, while Kalpeshwar is associated with his head.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment